Create My Login | Forgot My Password

2016 Portland First Citizen

Karen Fishel and Barb Attridge

Dress for Success Oregon founders Karen Fishel and Barb Attridge and are improving the local economy one life at a time. “We are on a mission to promote the economic independence of disadvantaged women by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life” states Karen Fishel. With a partnership that began over 17 years ago, Barb and Karen are actively engaged in the community with a deep commitment to improving the lives of women and their families. The Portland Metropolitan Association of Realtors® (PMAR) is pleased to announce Barb and Karen as the recipients of the 2016 Portland First Citizen Award. They will be recognized at the 88th annual Portland First Citizen Banquet on May 26th at The Nines, Portland, from noon to 1:30 p.m.

Since opening its doors, Dress for Success has served more than 18,000 women in Multnomah, Clark and Washington counties.  While best known for providing suits to women, their employment retention programs are the cornerstone of the organization. Dress for Success provides a network of support and career development tools to help women remain employed and build a rewarding career. Each year they promote economic independence by helping more than 1,500 disadvantaged women in our community get and keep jobs.

Before founding Dress for Success Oregon, Karen worked in marketing at Nike and Barb was a CPA at TriMet. They met nearly 30 years ago through a Career Maker workshop they took to explore new career options.  The two started Dress for Success in 1998 after Karen saw an article that intrigued her in People Magazine.  Karen called her good friend Barb to tell her about the organization and together they started the first Dress for Success on the west coast.

The organization has received numerous accolades for their work, and recently learned that Dress for Success Oregon has been selected to be in The Willamette Give!Guide 2015.

The Portland First Citizen Award was created in 1928 by the Portland Realty Board (now PMAR) to honor civic achievements and business leadership within the community. It is considered one of Portland’s most prestigious awards, and the individuals who have received it form an honor roll of the city’s most prominent leaders during the last eight decades.

In addition to the Portland First Citizen Award, two other awards will be presented at the banquet. The Portland Future First Citizen Award recognizes a high school student in the Portland metropolitan area who is a model of civic responsibility and provides a $5,000 scholarship toward the recipient’s higher education. And, the PMAR Good Neighbor Award recognizes a Realtor® for his or her extraordinary commitment to improving the quality of life in the community with a $1,000 contribution to the recipient’s charity of choice.

To purchase tickets, click here.

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors: The Oregonian, RE/MAX Equity Group and Regional Multiple Listing Service (RMLS™).

Past Portland First Citizens

1928 Ben Selling 1972 Ira C. Keller
1929 J. C. Ainsworth 1973 Howard Vollum
1930 Aaron M. Frank 1974 William E. Roberts
1931 Henry B. Van Duzer 1975 Fred G. Meyer
1932 Raymond B. Wilcox 1976 Larry Hilaire
1933 George L. Baker 1977 Louis B. Perry
1934 Hopkin Jenkins 1978 Edith Green
1935 Edward C. Sammons 1979 David Edwin Abram
1936 Arthur L. Fields 1980 William Swindells, Sr.
1937 Richard B. Dillehunt, M.D. 1981 Judge Harlow F. Lenon
1938 Franklin T. Griffith 1982 Samuel T. Naito & William S. Naito
1939 Charles H. Martin 1983 Carl M. Halvorson
1940 Ross McIntyre 1984 Bishop Paul D. Waldschmidt
1941 Mrs. Thomas D. Honeyman 1985 John Piacentini
1942 Edgar F. Kaiser 1986 Dr. Albert Starr
1943 Portland Service Men/Women 1987 Robert L. Ridgley
1944 Mrs. C.S. Jackson 1988 Don C. Frisbee
1945 Theodore R. Gamble 1989 Melvin ‘Pete’ Mark
1946 Chester A. Moores 1990 Harry L. Demorest
1947 Sid Woodbury 1991 Dr. Matthew W. Prophet, Jr.
1948 Hillman Lueddemann 1992 Harry Glickman
1949 Thomas Harry Banfield 1993 John ‘Jack’ Faust
1950 David B. Simpson 1994 Maestro Jacob Avshalomov
1951 Frank Erwin McCaslin 1995 Harold & Arlene Schnitzer
1952 Edgar William Smith 1996 Fred A. Stickel
1953 C.B. Stephenson 1997 Neil Goldschmidt
1954 Ben H. Hazen 1998 Brian & Gwyneth Booth
1955 Dr. Morgan S. Odell 1999 Dr. Robert B. Pamplin, Jr.
1956 Harold Fox Wendell 2000 Peter E. Jacobsen
1957 Rt. Rev. Benjamin Dagwell 2002 Senator Mark O. Hatfield
1958 William Bruce Boone 2003 Tony L. Hopson, Sr.
1959 Paul Boole McKee 2004 Dan Wieden
1960 Dr. Leo Sherman Lucas 2005 Gert Boyle
1961 Dr. Samuel Latta Diack 2006 Jack McGowan
1962 Truman Wesley Collins 2007 Peggy Fowler
1963 Judge Donald E. Long 2008 Joe Weston
1964 Charles R. Holloway, Jr. 2009 Bill Schonely
1965 Aubrey R. Watzek 2010 Brian J. Druker, MD
1966 Mrs. S. Mason Ehrman 2011 Mercy Corps
1967 John M. Fulton 2012 Duncan Campbell
1968 John D. Gray 2013 Jean DeMaster
1969 Homer T. Shaver 2014 George “Bing” Sheldon
1970 Judge Gus J. Solomon  2015  Mark and Ann Edlen
1971 Glenn Jackson