Create My Login | Forgot My Password

2015 Portland First Citizen

Mark and Ann Edlen

Mark-and-Ann-professional-2014-R2As recipients of the First Citizen Award, Mark and Ann Edlen embody the very characteristics represented in this award – integrity, quality of character and a love of Portland, its natural beauty and progressive community. With a partnership that began over 30 years ago, Mark and Ann are actively engaged in the city, both individually and collectively with a deep commitment to education, healthcare, the arts, sustainability and the built environment. The Portland Metropolitan Association of Realtors® (PMAR) is pleased to announce Mark and Ann Edlen as the recipients of the 2015 Portland First Citizen Award. The Edlens will be recognized at the 87th annual Portland First Citizen Banquet on April 29th at The Nines, Portland, from noon to 1:30 p.m.

Mark is recognized for his expertise and success in creating sustainable communities in mixed-use commercial, residential, educational and retail developments. As co-founder and CEO of Gerding Edlen Development Company, Mark leads a company that is grounded in a socially responsible approach to real estate investment, with the belief that the path to preserving natural resources leads directly to a new urban reality, where transformative buildings and vibrant communities deliver investment quality assets to foster prosperity. Here in Portland, these projects include the Brewery Blocks, Wieden + Kennedy, OHSU Center for Health and Healing, Vestas North American Headquarters, Central City Concern Broadway Recovery Center, and Indigo @ 12|West, among numerous other projects.

Since 1996 when Mark co-founded the company with his close friend Bob Gerding, who passed away in 2009, the firm has earned a distinct reputation with more LEED Certified buildings than any other developer in the world. The company, who originated the concept of 20-minute living, is guided by a set of values that they developed called Principles of Place, where community plays a pivotal role alongside design and technology in the success of their projects. With an undergraduate degree in Finance and an M.B.A., both from the University of Oregon, Mark currently serves on the Board at Ecotrust, is a member of the Board of Advisors at Lundquist College of Business, University of Oregon, and was recently appointed to the Portland Development Commission.

Ann combined a degree in art and graduate work in business that led to a long and diverse career in marketing and advertising. Beginning with her position as Vice President and Marketing Director for First Interstate Bank (now Wells Fargo) Ann served as a marketing and fundraising consultant for the non-profit sector, and was the Founding Partner of a Portland-based marketing, branding and design company, Think Joule, where she was active until her retirement in 2014.

Known for her strategic marketing capacity – combined with a high degree of creativity, intelligence and passion – Ann has served on the Board of the Oregon Health & Science University Foundation, Portland Art Museum, Jesuit High School, and the Board of Visitors for the University of Oregon School of Architecture and Allied Arts.  Most recently, Ann was the Chair of the Board of Governors for Pacific Northwest College of Art, where she served a pivotal role in the realization of the Arlene and Harold Schnitzer Center for Art and Design; recognized as a transformative project that will contribute to the cultural and economic vitality of the city.

Mark and Ann embrace a fundamental philosophy of community, living a life committed to family, and to their beliefs that as engaged citizens we must always be asking, how can we add to our community – what is our responsibility to the livability of the built environment, a more sustainable future for the next generation, and how can we help less fortunate Oregonians attain their dreams. These are the values that they share with their three grown children, their spouses and two grandchildren.

The Portland First Citizen Award was created in 1928 by the Portland Realty Board (now PMAR) to honor civic achievements and business leadership within the community. It is considered one of Portland’s most prestigious awards, and the individuals who have received it form an honor roll of the city’s most prominent leaders during the last eight decades.

In addition to the Portland First Citizen Award, two other awards will be presented at the banquet. The Portland Future First Citizen Award recognizes a high school student in the Portland metropolitan area who is a model of civic responsibility and provides a $5,000 scholarship toward the recipient’s higher education. And, the PMAR Good Neighbor Award recognizes a Realtor® for his or her extraordinary commitment to improving the quality of life in the community with a $1,000 contribution to the recipient’s charity of choice.

Thank you to our Platinum Sponsors: The Oregonian, Regional Multiple Listing Service (RMLS™).
Past Portland First Citizens

1928 Ben Selling 1972 Ira C. Keller
1929 J. C. Ainsworth 1973 Howard Vollum
1930 Aaron M. Frank 1974 William E. Roberts
1931 Henry B. Van Duzer 1975 Fred G. Meyer
1932 Raymond B. Wilcox 1976 Larry Hilaire
1933 George L. Baker 1977 Louis B. Perry
1934 Hopkin Jenkins 1978 Edith Green
1935 Edward C. Sammons 1979 David Edwin Abram
1936 Arthur L. Fields 1980 William Swindells, Sr.
1937 Richard B. Dillehunt, M.D. 1981 Judge Harlow F. Lenon
1938 Franklin T. Griffith 1982 Samuel T. Naito & William S. Naito
1939 Charles H. Martin 1983 Carl M. Halvorson
1940 Ross McIntyre 1984 Bishop Paul D. Waldschmidt
1941 Mrs. Thomas D. Honeyman 1985 John Piacentini
1942 Edgar F. Kaiser 1986 Dr. Albert Starr
1943 Portland Service Men/Women 1987 Robert L. Ridgley
1944 Mrs. C.S. Jackson 1988 Don C. Frisbee
1945 Theodore R. Gamble 1989 Melvin ‘Pete’ Mark
1946 Chester A. Moores 1990 Harry L. Demorest
1947 Sid Woodbury 1991 Dr. Matthew W. Prophet, Jr.
1948 Hillman Lueddemann 1992 Harry Glickman
1949 Thomas Harry Banfield 1993 John ‘Jack’ Faust
1950 David B. Simpson 1994 Maestro Jacob Avshalomov
1951 Frank Erwin McCaslin 1995 Harold & Arlene Schnitzer
1952 Edgar William Smith 1996 Fred A. Stickel
1953 C.B. Stephenson 1997 Neil Goldschmidt
1954 Ben H. Hazen 1998 Brian & Gwyneth Booth
1955 Dr. Morgan S. Odell 1999 Dr. Robert B. Pamplin, Jr.
1956 Harold Fox Wendell 2000 Peter E. Jacobsen
1957 Rt. Rev. Benjamin Dagwell 2002 Senator Mark O. Hatfield
1958 William Bruce Boone 2003 Tony L. Hopson, Sr.
1959 Paul Boole McKee 2004 Dan Wieden
1960 Dr. Leo Sherman Lucas 2005 Gert Boyle
1961 Dr. Samuel Latta Diack 2006 Jack McGowan
1962 Truman Wesley Collins 2007 Peggy Fowler
1963 Judge Donald E. Long 2008 Joe Weston
1964 Charles R. Holloway, Jr. 2009 Bill Schonely
1965 Aubrey R. Watzek 2010 Brian J. Druker, MD
1966 Mrs. S. Mason Ehrman 2011 Mercy Corps
1967 John M. Fulton 2012 Duncan Campbell
1968 John D. Gray 2013 Jean DeMaster
1969 Homer T. Shaver 2014 George “Bing” Sheldon
1970 Judge Gus J. Solomon
1971 Glenn Jackson